The Dullahans: Paddy Go Bragh

dullahans-paddy-go-bragh“Paddy Go Bragh” is the debut album from German Outlaw Celt-punk band The Dullahans. Fifteen tracks in all with twelve being souped-up folk standard made famous by The Dubliners and their like and three souped-up polkas – Adam Bell’s March, Bill Sullivan’s Polka and John Ryan’s Polka. So while there is nothing original here the Dullahans are tight and their interpretations are a hell of a lot of fun to listen to. Recommend if you like your Whiskey In The Jar served rowdy.

Track listing:
01 – Adam Bell’s March
02 – The Foggy Dew
03 – Finnegan’s Wake
04 – I’ll Tell Me
05 – Whiskey In The Jar 2:38
06 – Molly Malone 2:26
07 – Let The Grasses Grow 2:29
08 – Bill Sullivan’s Polka 1:22
09 – Poor Paddy 2:31
10 – The Irish Rover 3:41
11 – Nancy Whiskey 2:29
12 – Spanish Lady 2:56
13 – Come Out Ye Black and Tans 2:36
14 – The Wild Rover 2:42
15 – John Ryan’s Polka 1:20

The Narrowbacks: After Hours (EP)

The After Hours EP is a five track stop gap release from the very fine Bronx-Irish band The Narrowbacks. Four tracks are excellent covers of traditional ballads/rebel classics – Star of the County Down, Rising of the Moon, Fields of Athenry and Patriot Game- nothing new but great versions of much done standards and this band is tight. Track five, Aqueduct North, 4:15am (Live) is basically A Pair of Brown Eyes done a 4:15am after just a few pints. Check out the official promo video here.




Trouble Pilgrims – Instant Polaroid (The Man On The Bridge)

Dublin’s newest punk band channel the spirit of their ’77 punk roots. Trouble Pilgrims were formally the seminal Radiators from Space, Ireland’s first punk band. Instant Polaroid (the bands second single) reminisces back at a Dublin long gone with a genuine hard edged sound and authenticity that wouldn’t be outta place on TV Tube Heart.

Trouble Pilgrims - Instant Polaroid -The Single- - cover

#chevronlives #troublepilgrims #radiatorsfromspace

Narrowbacks shows

Bronx based Irish-folk-punks The Narrowbacks have some high profile shows coming up including the big one opening for the Dropkick Murphys.


January 15th Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY
w/ Peoples Blues of Richmond & Atlas Road Crew

March 16th House of Blues, Boston, MA
w/ Dropkick Murphys & Tiger Army

March 17th Webster Hall, New York, NY
w/ Girsa

BTW Narrowback is NY slang for an Irish America.

The Mahones in 2016

25 Years in the game and 2016 looks like it will be the Mahones busiest year too date with four (yeah frigging four) releases planned this year:-


The Mahones: 25 Years of Irish Punk (The Very Best) will be released in time for St. Patrick’s Day, 2016, just in time for their 25th Anniversary St. Patrick’s Invasion Tour. The Mahones will be recording brand new studio versions of your favourite Mahones punk classics, with their current (classic) lineup: Finny McConnell, Katie Kaboom, Dom “The Bomb” Whelan, Sean “Riot” Ryan, Michael O’Grady, Jonathan Moorman and Sean Winter.

The Mahones: 25 Years of Irish Folk (The Very Best) will be released in time for halfway to St. Patrick’s Day, September 17th, 2016, and will feature brand new acoustic studio versions of your favourite Mahones folk classics.

2016 will also see the release of The Mahones: The Hunger & The Fight (Deluxe Edition). This will feature the double concept album in one, full length CD, in it’s intended operatic (???) form.

Finally, due to very popular demand, they will finally be releasing The Mahones’ first ever album, Clear The Way, a cassette recorded back when dinosaurs roamed the Earth. It includes bonus early recordings, recently found by Finny.

Also, a 25th Anniversary Pictorial History book will be released along with a documentary, and a live-in-concert DVD.

Hudson Falcons: Peace of Mind

The first Hudson Falcons album from way back in the last century was an absolute street punk classic – plug-in-n-play-loud, a raw SLF meets Springsteen. Somewhere over the years the Hudson Falcons fell off my radar as they slugged around the DYI and dive circuit of the US. Listening now to their new album, Peace of Mind, it’s great to have ‘em back on my radar.

What really struck me about Peace of Mind, and yeah I am late to the party, is that while the Hudson Falcons are still the authentic blue collar punk’n’roll band, the have mellowed or at least are showing way more classic rock influences. I’m hearing a great Thin Lizzy vibe on Live Right Now, the Rolling Stones on songs like Soul Salvation and Triers Never Leave The Ground and of course Springsteen is ever present. But, the band don’t stray too far from their roots as, Scared, and, We Need A Union Now, are classic, fist pumping, up the union, Hudson Falcons classics that could have been found on Desperation And Revolution.

Like I said it’s been great to reconnect and I promise I won’t stray again. If you as a good listener are looking for no bullshite rock-n-roll then start here with Peace of Mind.


Greenland Whalefishers – new album

Norwegian Celtic-punk legends Greenland Whalefishers have a new album, The Thirsty Cave, out on September 21st (thats tomorrow). The album is out on green vinyl as well as the other less trendy formats. Review to follow shortly.


New music from – Larkin: A Toast to St. Jude

Happy to report that after an 8 year wait we will have new music from Tulsa based trad punk band Larkin. The album will be out later this summer on vinyl (and I assume CD too). A review and hopefully an interview with Larkin soon to follow.

St. Jude





Horslips tribute update

Our long on-going (5 years in the making) tribute to Celtic-rock originators Horslips is moving forward. All tracks are in and mastering is about to take place in Montreal under the expert supervision of Mr. Finny McConnell of The Mahones.


The final track list is:

Side 1

01 – Langers Ball / Sword of Light

02 – Bill Grogan’s Goat / Dearg Doom

03 – The Mahones / Shamrock Shore

04 – Jake Burns (Stiff Little Fingers) / Warm Sweet Breath

05 – Mark Cunningham / My Lagan Love

06 – The Gobshites with Richie Ramone / The Man Who Built America

07 – The Indulgers / Trouble

08 – Larkin Brigade / NY Wakes

09 – Radiators From Space / Lady wrestler

10 – Dun Ringles / Speed the Plough

11 – The Teraways / Come Back Beatles

12 – Gerard Smith / Ferdia’s song


What ever happened to……..

The Mighty Regis? Lost of activity between 2007 and 2012 and nothing since? Anyone know if the band is still active. A might band.